julie's injuries

bumps, bruises, blood, burns, and broken bones

Sunday, January 4th, 2015

Happy New Year……..

I called into work in the morning. I didn’t feel like teaching skiing in the rain. So I slept in until eleven.

I spent most of the day researching/daydreaming/planning my future and many of the things I want to do in my life. Traveling, studying and working abroad, trying new things…

IMG_7261I started writing a compiled and organized list from lists that I had been making in previous weeks. I decided when I got back to Miami after break, I would start going to Action Club, and I knew my first assignment would be to create a list. (For those who don’t know, Action Club is “a group for people who have goals and dreams that they want to make a reality. Our motto is to create a space where we encourage and inspire one another to achieve our dreams.”, according to their Facebook group.)

In attempt to start the year off healthy and prepare for bike rides once I got back to Miami, I decided to head out for a run around 3:45 in the afternoon. It had been in the 50s (Fahrenheit) earlier in the day, and was still in the 40s in the afternoon. So I suited up in my tree pants (will be pictured below), Saucony sneakers, rainbow     hobhttps://i1.wp.com/f1.bcbits.com/img/a2739440283_7.jpgo gloves, and tie dye Modern Baseball “whatevhttps://i2.wp.com/f1.bcbits.com/img/a2775040107_7.jpger forever” shirt.

I started playing some feel-good punk to get me pumped and not hating the weather and running so much.

I took off through the woods behind my house (kind of out of breath since I hadn’t been running too much, and eating a fair share of Christmas cookies). But I went with it. I made it the quarter mile through the woods and started to enter the gravel downhill road.

“Looks icy”, was my last thought before I hit the ground.

And icy it was. As anyone who knows me even slightly is aware, I fall down quite often, so I’m used to it. I wasn’t expecting too much damage. But I couldn’t feel my left foot too much so I knew something was wrong. I knew even more when I looked at it and there was a bone sticking out the side of my ankle where I was very positive a bone did not belong. It was just like I had seen in movies and emergency-preparedness lifeguarding training videos.IMG_7264

Moving to a more “comfortable” position from my heap of a body on the ground, my ankle shifted around and I heard a sort of a pop. I was definitely yelling at this point. More out of panic than out of pain, because shock had set in immediately and I could barely feel my ankle or foot.

Luckily I’d been running with my iPhone so after a few desperate calls, my dad was on his way with the car to pick me up. I sat helpless on the cold, wet ground, thinking things along the lines of “well, this sucks”.

At least my emergency room waiting time was only a little over two hours (in Canada, the average is about four).

In case you missed my Snapchat story, here it is.

[Time frame: 4:30 pm Sunday – 12:30 am Monday]

IMG_7265 IMG_7266 IMG_7267  IMG_7269  IMG_7271 IMG_7272 IMG_7273 IMG_7274

In summary, I have small and hard to find veins, I got put to sleep on the same drugs Michael Jackson died on, and it took two people pulling together to get my ankle back into (roughly) the right place.

IMG_7275

And here I am.IMG_7289

And here’s my before and after.

Stay tuned for pictures of my ankle post-surgery on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2015 by .

Navigation

